Mauricio Tavares (Main Phish)
Mauricio Tavares (Main Phish)
3 min read


  • blog


  • content
  • phish
  • image

Phisher this time is a bit more clever than the average one we have been dealing with recently. Yes, I know it does not take much, but I will take what I can get.

From: James Fort <>
To: <>
Date: May 20 2023 19:43 -0400
Subject: Kindly Confirm Upon Receipt


My name is James Fort, a Solicitor and Senior Partner in the Law
Firm of Fort & Co. Solicitors. Kindly confirm the receipt of this
email to my direct contact email address

James Fort

How to know it is a phishing email

Before you ask, there are some dead giveaways this is a phishing email

  • That trademark of scam messages, be them phishing or fake job offers or whatever, the notorious kindly is there not once but twice as proud as it can be.

  • Why is the email address in the From: field different than that in the Reply-To: field, specially if this is supposed to be a solicitor who has a domain for his legal enterprises? not only does not sound like but also has different connotations.

  • Related to the above, the fact the email goes out of its way to say “use and not the email this is coming from” makes it even more suspicious.

  • Why do I need to confirm I receive an email from this soliciting phisher? I understand the idea is to weasel around the (rather usueless) phishing and malware detection filters, but this is like asking to ask: if you have business with me, tell me about it. You would make the Nigerian Prince sad.

I am OK with this phisher because I actually had to put some effort

But, this time I could not resist. I had an itch to scratch: is there a company with a website called If so, it would mean they are either plain impersonating or just took their domain/website/email over. In this case, the answer is: there are many sites with similar names (which is probably why they chose it), but none exactly like it. So, I decided to check how old is. If it is not too old, they just created it for the phishing email. Here is what I found:

   Registry Domain ID: 2778555624_DOMAIN_COM-VRSN
   Registrar WHOIS Server:
   Registrar URL:
   Updated Date: 2023-05-20T15:47:49Z
   Creation Date: 2023-05-06T11:46:31Z
   Registry Expiry Date: 2024-05-06T11:46:31Z
   Registrar: Synergy Wholesale Pty Ltd
   Registrar IANA ID: 1609
   Registrar Abuse Contact Email:
   Registrar Abuse Contact Phone:
   Domain Status: ok
   DNSSEC: unsigned
   URL of the ICANN Whois Inaccuracy Complaint Form:
>>> Last update of whois database: 2023-05-22T03:53:37Z <<<

The most important line here is the Creation Date: 2023-05-06T11:46:31Z. This domain is not even a month old, which is yet another clue this is a phishing email. And, what about Glad you asked:

   Registry Domain ID: 2765984400_DOMAIN_COM-VRSN
   Registrar WHOIS Server:
   Registrar URL:
   Updated Date: 2023-03-17T20:35:28Z
   Creation Date: 2023-03-17T20:35:28Z
   Registry Expiry Date: 2024-03-17T20:35:28Z
   Registrar: Inc.
   Registrar IANA ID: 955
   Registrar Abuse Contact Email:
   Registrar Abuse Contact Phone: 602-226-2389
   Domain Status: clientTransferProhibited
   Name Server: NS8617.HOSTGATOR.COM
   Name Server: NS8618.HOSTGATOR.COM

It was created two months ago and if we take a look at its homepage:


Let's set up your website!


Log in to

Log in to



Copyright HostGator

we see they just got the HostGator account and never really built a website. All we see is the placeholder page.

Is this a bit above and beyond what we needed to do to find if this is a phishing email? Yes. But, since this phisher actually took time to get some domains instead of just faking it and using gmail address, we owed to him to show he started right laying together the required infrastructure. Unfortunately then he dropped all the goodwill he earned by providing a rather easy to detect phishing email.

Overall, it is not a bad effort… if this was the first homework in an entry level phishing class.